Isuzu FA Vase first round proper: Wellington 2, Barnstaple Town 0

Wellington AFC produced one of their best displays of the season to progress in the Vase with victory over Barnstaple Town at the Playing Field yesterday (Saturday, October 22nd).

The North Devon club – currently sixth in the Toolstation premier table – had already beaten the Tangerines 3-1 in the league.

Miles Quick receives the man of the match award from club secretary Jeff Brown on behalf of sponsors AJ Shire Electrical Services.

But they came off second best in a pulsating contest which resulted in Wellington earning £825 in prizemoney and a second round tie at home to Royal Wootton Bassett Town of the Hellenic League premier division on Saturday, November 12th.

There was never much to choose between the sides in a high tempo first half which ended goalless.

Home defender Jason Quick headed off the line after ten minutes and keeper Harley Wilkinson did well to push over a powerful free kick from Stuart Bowker after 34 while, at the other end, Wellington had appeals for a penalty rejected after Mark Cornish went down in the box.

The Tangerines stepped up a gear after the break only to be denied by the woodwork twice with headers from Cornish hitting the post and then the bar. In between, Jake Quick got the ball in the net but the assistant’s flag was raised for offside.

But they were not to be denied and broke the deadlock with 12 minutes remaining. Man-of-the-match Miles Quick was brought down as he rounded keeper Liam Kingston and skipper Sam Towler coolly dispatched the resulting penalty.

Wellington doubled their advantage with four minutes remaining as a pull-back from Eli Collins was sliced into his own net by Barnstaple’s Brodie Montague.

That was game over as an outstanding performance by the home defence of Stefan Phillips, Tom Stone, Jason Quick and Alex Cherry meant Wilkinson was not called into serious action in the second half.

Team: Harley Wilkinson, Stefan Phillips, Tom Stone, Jason Quick Alex Cherry, Jamie Nicholson, Sam Towler, Eli Collins, Mark Cornish, Jake Quick, Miles Quick. Subs: Jordan Casey, Glen Wright and Michael Murphy (all used).