Toolstation League premier division: Mousehole 3, Wellington 0

Wellington went down to a three-goal defeat in Cornwall which sparked wild celebrations for Mousehole who clinched the premier division title.

The Tangerines battled hard throughout but could not avoid conceding the double as their hosts sealed promotion to the Southern League at only the second attempt.

Wellington were without both of their regular keepers, with Harley Wilkinson and Shay Allen unavailable, so Miles Quick took over the gloves.

They got off to a bright start as heavy rain swamped the pitch with Zeph Collins sending a shot dipping just over before the slick Mousehole side got on top.

The championship hopefuls went ahead with two shots from outside the box before half-time.

The first after 15 minutes saw Andrew Elcock’s low drive take a wicked deflection on its way past Quick.

But Callam McOnie needed no assistance just before the half-hour as he cut inside from the right and blasted an unstoppable shot into the top corner.

Wellington regrouped at half-time and gave a good account of themselves after the break.

They could even have set up a tense finish for Mousehole with Alfie Clark seeing an effort hooked off the line while appeals for a penalty were turned down after Tom Stone was sent tumbling in the home box.

But the visitors then had two players sin binned – Clark and Zeph Collins – and Hayden Turner fired home a third goal with eight minutes remaining to start the Mousehole party.

Wellington: Miles Quick, Lloyd Tucker, Jason Quick, Tom Stone, Zeph Collins, Jamie Nicholson, Eli Collins, Glen Wright, Nathan Byrne, Jake Quick, Sully McKenna. Substitutes: Alfie Clark, Tom Burt and Mike Murphy (used); Alex Cherry (not used).

Photos courtesy of Around Wellington.