Isuzu FA Vase first qualifying round: Wellington 0, Okehampton Argyle 3

Wellington bowed out of the Isuzu FA Vase with defeat at the hands of Okehampton Argyle of the Peninsula League yesterday (Saturday, August 26th).

In a tie played at Tiverton Town’s ground because of football at the Playing Field, the Tangerines bossed the opening 45 minutes but fell behind in first half injury time and conceded two more goals after the break.

Manager Richard Cherry was missing a number of players but there was a welcome back for defender Tom Stone, who marked his return from a brief spell at Buckland Athletic by captaining the side.

He was joined by two debutants – young keeper Rhys Williams taking over from the suspended Shay Allen and attacking midfielder Gabriel Plant, signed from Bideford of the Southern League.

Wellington got off to a promising start with Stone heading wide early on before Tom Burt went close on a couple of occasions.

Argyle, who had already beaten Toolstation premier sides Brixham and Buckland this season, came to life as the half entered stoppage time.

Charlie Harrod was denied by a goal-line clearance from Jordan Hayman before Oli Snow gave them the lead moments later with a snapshot from 20 yards.

Although Burt went close early in the second half, Wellington were unable to claw their way back into the game and Snow struck two more goals to complete his hat-trick and seal victory.

He turned home a pull-back after 53 minutes before charging down a clearance 14 minutes later to run on and drive low past Williams.

To make matters worse for the Tangerines, they were reduced to ten men with 20 minutes remaining as Hayman pulled back an attacker out wide and the referee showed what looked to be a harsh red card.

They must now pick themselves up for a return to league action as they travel to Ilfracombe Town on Tuesday, ko 7.45pm.

Wellington: Rhys Williams, Lloyd Tucker, Tom Stone, Jordan Hayman, Mark Cornish, Flynn Smith, Josh Lukins, Glen Wright, Gabriel Plant, Miles Quick, Tom Burt. Substitutes: Rohan Poulsom, Ryan Hibbert and Nico Cottle (all used).

Photos courtesy of the Around Wellington news and sport website.