FA Vase first round: Millbrook 1, Wellington 2

A last-minute winner by midfielder Miles Quick put Wellington through to the second round of the Vase for the first time in four years.

It also earned them £825 in prizemoney to go with the £725 they picked up by beating Bishops Lydeard in the previous round.

Manager Tim Legg was missing striker Jake Quick (unavailable) and recent signing Douglas Camilo (cup tied) but will have been delighted by a performance full of character from his side, who trailed at the break.

Wellington enjoyed more possession in the first half and went close through Nathan Byrne and Miles Quick before Millbrook – promoted to the Western League premier this season – broke the deadlock after 24 minutes.

Big defender John Styring powered home a corner with the visitors appealing in vain that the ball had gone in off his arm.

Wellington should have drawn level before the break but Sam Towler was denied by a brilliant reaction save when he seemed certain to score in front of goal and then Josh Baker saw an effort cleared off the line,

But they were not to be denied and finally did equalise from a slick move seven minutes after the break. Towler found Miles Quick and he crossed to the impressive Baker, who swivelled before shooting home.

Millbrook went close to re-taking the lead with Jason Quick coming to Shay Allen’s rescue after the keeper had misjudged a bounce and then Allen making amends to superbly deny Josh Toulsen who had raced clear.

Although Wellington always held the upper hand, the game looked to be heading straight to penalties until they struck the killer blow.

Miles Quick pounced on a loose ball and burst through the home defence before rifling in a low drive to the delight of the travelling supporters.

The visitors then had to hold out as the ref inexplicably found eight minutes of stoppage time – but hold out they did until the final whistle meant it was a joyous coach trip back to Somerset.

Wellington: Shay Allen, Mark Cornish, Jordan Casey, Jason Quick, Jack Bown-Porter, Glen Wright, Mason Raymond, Sam Towler, Miles Quick, Josh Baker, Nathan Byrne. Substitutes: Josh Champion, Scott Merritt and Tom Stone (all used).